Tue, Feb 20, 2024, 6:10 AM

The ACT Brumbies have confirmed their 34-player squad for the upcoming 2024 Super Rugby Women’s Season, kicking off the club's Round 1 fixture on Saturday March 16 against the NSW Waratahs at Allianz Stadium.

Head Coach Scott Fava welcomes back 18players from last year's 2023 Super W Squad, including Wallaroos representatives and Brumbies captain Siokapesi Palu, Tania Naden, Tabua Tuinakauvadra, Jasmin Huriwai and 2023 Rugby Australia Junior Women’s Player of the Year, Faitala Moleka.

Fijian international Iris Verebalavu will feature again in 2024, alongside Kolora Lomani who makes the move from the Fijian Drua. Lomani joins an impressive list of recruits in 2024 which include Katalina Amosa (NSW Waratahs) and former Australian representative Kayla Sauvao.

Fava is excited with the direction of the Women's game at the Brumbies and expects the club to build on last season's performance.

“We have a great atmosphere amongst the staff and playing squad with the majority of our core playing group from last year committing for the 2024 Season. We have a great balance of seasoned players mixed with a number of youngsters who have been elevated from our inaugural Women’s Academy Program that commenced in 2023 and in partnership with the University of Canberra," said Fava.

Six Academy graduates have been named in this year's squad which include Martha Fua, Lily Bone, Anastasia Martin, Becka Marsters, Erika Maslen and Chioma Enyi highlighting the strength of the program.

Joanne Butler (Papua New Guinea) and Neomai Vunga (Tonga) are welcome additions to the ACT Brumbies, who both secured 2024 Super Rugby Women’s Scholarships as part of a joint partnership between Oceania Rugby and the Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade's flagship program, PacificAus Sports. Both athletes were rewarded for their performance at the Oceania Rugby Women’s Combine delivered in collaboration with World Rugby last August.

General Manager of Professional Rugby and Pathways, Chris Thomson underlines the organisation's investment in the Women’s game, whilst also working together with external stakeholders to provide opportunities for athletes to participate at the elite level.

"Our pathways system is crucial to helping sustain the future of the ACT Brumbies for both our mens and womens academy programs. We have many talented juniors in our catchment areas and it is important that we're able to strengthen our Academy programs so we are able to retain, nurture and unleash tomorrow's superstars."

ACT Brumbies Super Rugby Womens captain, Siokapesi Palu is focused on the upcoming trials as the squad continues to build for the season ahead.

"The squad has come together really well this preseason. There has been an injection of new players in the team which has brought energy to the group. We had a great first hit out at home against Hong Kong China Women two weeks ago and look to build on that performance heading into our trial against the Waratahs this weekend."

The ACT Brumbies Womens will line-up for two more trial matches before their season opener, facing the NSW Waratahs next Saturday February 24 at Campbelltown Harlequins Rugby Club. Before travelling north to the Gold Coast to play an invitational Pasifika at Bond University.

2024 Super Rugby Womens ACT Brumbies Trial Matches

Saturday 24 February Brumbies vs NSW Waratahs - 4:45PM AEDT - Campbelltown Harlequins Rugby Club, Sydney

Saturday 2 March Brumbies vs Pasifika XV - 6:00PM AEDT - Bond University, Gold Coast

2024 ACT Brumbies Super Rugby Womens Squad

Katalina Amosa (Gungahlin Eagles)
Ashlea Bishop (Canberra Royals)
Lily Bone (Queanbeyan Whites)
Bonnie Brewer (Canberra Royals)
Joanne Butler (Papua New Guinea)
Biola Dawa (Canberra Royals)
Chioma Enyi (Western Districts)
Benita Ese Sale (Campbelltown Harlequins)
Ashley Fernandez (Canberra Royals)
Martha Fua (Gungahlin Eagles)
Sally Fuesaina (TBA)
Jess Grant (Uni-Norths Owls)
Kate Holland (Hunter Wildfires)
Jasmin Huriwai (Queanbeyan Whites)
Harmony Ioane (Queanbeyan Whites)
Lydia Kavoa (Uni-Norths Owls)
Kyah Little (Hunter Wildfires)
Kolora Lomani (TBA)
Anastasia Martin (Canberra Royals)
Lorretta Mailangi (Gungahlin Eagles)
Erika Maslen (Tuggeranong ViQueens)
Becka Marsters (Queanbeyan Whites)
Jemima McCalman (Sydney University)
Faitala Moleka (Sydney University)
Tania Naden (Uni-Norths Owls)
Siokapesi Palu (C) (Uni-Norths Owls)
Gabrielle Petersen (Tuggeranong ViQueens)
Kayla Sauvao (Campbelltown Harlequins)
Allana Sikimeti (Tuggeranong ViQueens)
Hannah Stewart (Hunter Wildfires)
Jaimie Studdy (Manly Mermaids)
Tabua Tuinakauvadra (Tuggeranong ViQueens)
Iris Verebalavu (Uni-Norths Owls)
Neomai Vunga (Tonga)