Fri, Oct 28, 2022, 6:57 AM
Nathan Williamson

Wallaroos coach Jay Tregonning has elevated Layne Morgan to the starting side for their quarter-final clash with England.

Morgan made her starting debut against Canada earlier in the year, swapping with Iliseva Batibasaga to partner with fellow Waratahs teammate Arabella McKenzie in the halves.

Catch every game of Rugby World Cup 2021 LIVE on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

She is joined by Pauline Piliae-Rasambale in the starting side, who reverts to fullback, pushing Lori Cramer onto the wing for Ivania Wong (hamstring).

“I’m proud of how our players have developed during our time at the Rugby World Cup,” Tregonning said in a statement.

“Every week, I see improvements, I see players push themselves harder, and their determination grow.

“Our mindset is the same as it was for the opening game – there is no pressure on us, the pressure is on England to perform.”

Tregonning has also freshened up the bench, recalling Mahalia Murphy and Cecilia Smith for their first appearances at Rugby World Cup 2021.

The Wallaroos will be looking to end England's 28-game winning streak, with captain Shannon Parry embracing the challenge.

“The Wallaroos have earned the right to be in this Quarter Final,” Parry said.

“We’re here because of the sacrifices we’ve made, the hard work we’ve put in, and the support from the Wallaroos staff and families.

“It’s an honour to be able to compete against one of the best teams in the world.

“We don’t often get a chance to play against the Northern Hemisphere sides – it’s a completely different style of rugby – and it’s been invaluable experience for the squad.

“We’re here to win this quarter final; we’re not backing away from the challenge, and I am sure we’ll feel the support coming from the other side of the ditch.”

The Quarter Final will kick off at 1:30pm NZDT (11:30am AEDT) this Sunday, 30 October, at Waitakere Stadium in Auckland and will be shown live on Channel Nine, as well as live, ad-free, and on-demand on Stan Sport.

Wallaroos team to play England at Waitakere Stadium on Sunday, October 30 on 1:30pm NZST / 11:30 am AEDT

1.Liz Patu – Queensland Reds

2. Adiana Talakai – New South Wales Waratahs

3. Bridie O’Gorman – New South Wales Waratahs

4. Michaela Leonard – ACT Brumbies

5. Grace Kemp - ACT Brumbies

6. Emily Chancellor – New South Wales Waratahs

7. Shannon Parry (C) – Queensland Reds

8. Grace Hamilton – New South Wales Waratahs

9. Layne Morgan – New South Wales Waratahs

10. Arabella McKenzie – New South Wales Waratahs

11. Lori Cramer – New South Wales Waratahs

12. Sharni Williams – Australian Sevens

13.Georgina Friedrichs – New South Wales Waratahs

14. Bienne Terita – Australian Sevens

15.Pauline Piliae-Rasabale – New South Wales Waratahs


16.Tania Naden – ACT Brumbies

17. Emily Robinson – New South Wales Waratahs

18.Eva Karpani – New South Wales Waratahs

19.Sera Naiqama – New South Wales Waratahs

20. Piper Duck – New South Wales Waratahs

21.Iliseva Batibasaga – New South Wales Waratahs

22. Cecilia Smith – Queensland Reds

23. Mahalia Murphy – New South Wales Waratahs