Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: NRC vs GRR

Legend
    Apprentice Bookie
    vCash

NRC vs GRR

Had a thought.

I am very interested in your opinion.

With the law changes that are a great part of Global Rapid Rugby, are the Western Force players at a disadvantage having to convert their midset to play NRC at this time of the year?

In the future, would it be worth having 2 squads? A GRR squad capable of playing the Law variations and a squad of more traditional players who are capable of NRC laws.

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Exile
    Sydney

"Pain heels. Chicks dig scars and Glory lasts forever." Shane Falco

vCash
    I'm no expert, so don't think I'm speaking any great wisdom, but I haven't noticed a lot of difference in the style of grr due to law variations.

The game appears to be a faster, running-oriented deal, but it doesn't look vastly different or hybridised.

The only thing I'd point to is the potential for fitness levels to be inadequate, since there's rolling subs and 10 less minutes of play, but that wasn't evident on saturday

1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    C'mon the

Champion
    vCash
    Quote Originally Posted by .X. View Post
    Had a thought.

I am very interested in your opinion.

With the law changes that are a great part of Global Rapid Rugby, are the Western Force players at a disadvantage having to convert their midset to play NRC at this time of the year?

In the future, would it be worth having 2 squads? A GRR squad capable of playing the Law variations and a squad of more traditional players who are capable of NRC laws.
    I think the Force had the advantage of fitness against Qld Country. The Force players are used to playing "Rapid"" rugby and train accordingly. NRC is closer to the pace of GRR, than NRC is to normal rugby. Watching the game live with my friends, we noticed that a number of the Qld players were struggling to keep up in the last 15 minutes. The Green and Gold reporter also picked up on that in "Turning Point""