Thursday, 21 February 2008 7:26pm


Firepower RugbyWA Academy coach Geoff Townsend has named a 23- man squad for Saturday’s clash with the Queensland Second XV side at Rugby Park.
The squad includes three members of the Emirates Western Force squad, with Scott Fardy, Kieran Longbottom and James O’Connor named in the side.
Nine of the ten First Grade clubs will be represented, with Associates flanker Angus Nielsen named to captain the side.
Townsend, along with assistant coaches Matt Tink and Ian Fowler, selected the squad from internal trial matches conducted over the summer, and said the fixture will provide important game time for players currently not involved in Super Rugby or club rugby.
“There are a lot of talented young players in our team who hope to play at the professional level,” Townsend said.
“This sort of game is important for long term planning and the development of our young academy players.”
“The Reds second XV is very strong; most of their guys have ARC experience. It will be a good sign of where our program is at.”
The 2008 Academy/RugbyWA Senior Development Squad will effectively replace the rugby development pathway that was previously fostered by the very successful Perth Gold program.
The game kicks off at 5pm on Saturday the 23rd
Firepower RugbyWA Academy Squad:
Cruze Ah-Nau - Kalamunda
Sean Ashton - University
Tyler Edwards - Rockingham
Scott Fardy Perth - Bayswater
Toby Foster - Wanneroo
Kieran Longbottom - Rockingham
Jamie McQueen - Kalamunda
Tom Murday - University
Brent Murphy Perth - Bayswater
Angus Nielsen © - Associates
Brenden O’Dea - Rockingham
Alex Rovira - Associates
Ben Whittaker - Cottesloe
BACKS: club:
Kane Allen Wests - Subiaco
Dion Berryman - Kalamunda
Dave Kara - Kalamunda
Jon McGrath - TBC
Barry Mansfield - Nedlands
Brooke Moore Perth - Bayswater
James O’Connor - Cottesloe
Nigel Staniforth - Associates
Justin Turner - Associates
Cole Unasa Perth - Bayswater
Queensland 2nd XV team:
1 Ben Daley
2 Ole Avei
3 Herman Hunt
4 Robert Simmons
5 Will Munsie
6 Poutasi Luafutu
7 AJ Gilbert
8 Josh Afu
9 Ben Lucas
10 Andrew Walker
11 Caleb Brown
12 Lloyd Johansson
13 Charlie Fetoai
14 Blair Connor
15 Brando Va'aulu
16 James Hanson
17 Albert Anae
18 Dan Linde
19 Scott Higginbotham
20 Brendan McKibbin
21 Ben Tapuai
22 Aidan Toua
23 Geoff Abram