Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Rugby Australia Awards 2023

  1. #1
    Immortal Contributor
    Burgs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Country WA

    Rugby Australia Awards 2023

    Rugby Australia Awards RECAP: Valetini, Karpani claim major awards

    Wed, Feb 7, 2024, 6:46 PM
    Nathan Williamson

    Full Awards Winners
    It was a fast-paced awards night and a plethora of first-time winners as the 2023 Rugby Australia Awards concluded in Sydney.

    Here is a full list of award winners:

    2023 Rugby Australia Awards – Full list:

    John Eales Medal – Rob Valetini

    Buildcorp Wallaroos Player of the Year – Eva Karpani

    Shawn Mackay Award for Men’s Sevens Player of the Year – Henry Paterson

    Shawn Mackay Award for Women’s Sevens Player of the Year – Maddison Levi

    Harvey Norman Super Rugby Player of the Year – Fraser McReight, QLD Reds

    Buildcorp Super W Player of the Year – Cecilia Smith, QLD Reds

    RA Rookie of the Year Award – Carys Dallinger, Wallaroos

    RA Junior Men’s Player of the Year (U20) – Teddy Wilson

    RA Junior Women’s Player of the Year (U20) – Faitala Moleka

    Cadbury Try of the Year – Jake Upfield, QLD Reds vs Highlanders

    FEDEX Referee of the Year – Angus Gardner

    Nick Farr-Jones Spirit of Rugby Award – Bernard Tuaimau, Sydney Junior Rugby Union, AND Nathan Maiava, Melton Rugby Club

    Joe French Award for Outstanding Contribution to Rugby – Tim Gavin, Eastern Suburbs and New South Wales

    Geoff ‘Bunter’ Shaw Community Coach of the Year Award – Michael Crank, Mount Maria College

    Andrew Cole Community Match Official of the Year – Anthony Furey, Central Coast Rugby Union Referees

    Wallabies backrower Rob Valetini claims first John Eales Medal

    Wed, Feb 7, 2024, 6:16 PM
    Nathan Williamson

    Wallabies number eight Rob Valetini has claimed his first John Eales Medal on Wednesday.

    Voted by the players after each game, Valetini was one of the most consistent players in World Rugby in 2023.

    The Brumbies backrower polled 141 votes to finish ahead of Angus Bell (132) and Marika Koroibete (116).

    "It means a lot," Valetini said to reporters.

    "It was disappointing results last year but winning this award means a lot, even if it was a little bittersweet."

    Bell finished in spectacular form after missing the opening game against South Africa whilst Koroibete was at his consistent best.

    However, Valetini was influential across the year, playing nearly every minute for the Wallabies and starting at number eight in all nine games. This included a debut World Cup appearance in France against Georgia, leading the team for carries (41) and third for tackles (36) in their four games at the tournament.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "Bloody oath we did!"

    Nathan Sharpe, Legend.

  2. #2
    Immortal Contributor shasta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Great. But unfortunately for Rob, the memory of that award will fade over time. Unlike his title for all time worst cap presentation photo.

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    "The main difference between playing League and Union is that now I get my hangovers on Monday instead of Sunday - Tom David

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31-10-23, 19:13
  2. Australia A vs Tonga 14 July 2023
    By .X. in forum Wallabies
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16-08-23, 12:45
  3. Australia Rugby Australia locks in key 2023 jigsaw piece
    By The InnFORCEr in forum Sevens
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-02-23, 09:29
  4. Cricket Black Clash 2023 - 2.30pm WST - 20 January 2023 on Stan
    By The InnFORCEr in forum Other Sports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20-01-23, 16:54
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-12-16, 12:25

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts