Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 46

Thread: A Quick Question about the TMO...

  1. #1
    Veteran Jess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    4,223
    vCash
    500000
    MO-vember Donator

    Question A Quick Question about the TMO...

    Hey everyone,

    Was wondering if someone could help me out with a quick question about how much influence a TMO is allowed to have.

    While watching Rugby Extra Time on Fox last week with OMC and the lovely Mrs Cringle, Mum asked a question neither myself or Dad could answer (much to our embarrassment).

    She asked if the TMO is allowed to answer a question the field ref doesn't ask him. For example, if the ref goes to the TMO and asks if the ball was grounded, does the TMO have to just give a 'yes or no' answer or are they allowed to say 'yes the ball was grounded but it was also knocked on by the player who previously had the ball'.

    Are they allowed to give more information than what the ref asked is what i'm trying to say.

    Does anyone know? Burgs... you must do surely.

    Much appreciated guys!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    As far as I know they are only allowed to answer the question given. Although often you will hear the ref ask if there's any reason he cannot award the try.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Legend Contributor
    Moderator
    Happy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    JB O'Reilly's
    Posts
    8,072
    vCash
    46000
    Tong Master TWF Competition Runner Up! MO-vember Donator TWF Contributor!
    godo question, I've had a scan through the laws about match officials and it doesn't mention anything like that.

    My guess, is that it is up to both the ref and the TMO to make sure they understand what is asked and what the outcome is. ie If the ground ref asks was the ball grounded and under control and during observation the TMO spots another infringement then he would have to report that - otherwise he is allowing a result when it sholdn't be!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Chuck Norris has the greatest Poker-Face of all time. He won the 1983 World Series of Poker, despite holding only a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno.

  4. #4
    (formerly known as Coach) Your Humble Servant Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    13,254
    vCash
    744000
    TWF Competition Winner! Dry July! MO-vember Donator TWF Contributor!
    what Sage said. The ref needs to ask the "right" question to get full advantage from having a TMO

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Dear Lord, if you give us back Johnny Cash, we'll give you Justin Bieber.

  5. #5
    Veteran Contributor The EnForcer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,645
    vCash
    502000
    Dry July! MO-vember Donator TWF Contributor!
    Quote Originally Posted by Happy
    godo question, I've had a scan through the laws about match officials and it doesn't mention anything like that.

    My guess, is that it is up to both the ref and the TMO to make sure they understand what is asked and what the outcome is. ie If the ground ref asks was the ball grounded and under control and during observation the TMO spots another infringement then he would have to report that - otherwise he is allowing a result when it sholdn't be!
    I agree, the question asked of the TMO is to limit the footage he needs to view but if there is another infringement identified in that footage then the TMO will raise it with the ref. This is my understanding from what I have seen and not taken from any rules though.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just happy to be here

  6. #6
    (formerly known as Coach) Your Humble Servant Darren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    13,254
    vCash
    744000
    TWF Competition Winner! Dry July! MO-vember Donator TWF Contributor!
    From: http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=373079
    "The ref may consult him for matters directly relating to a score. i.e. the grounding of the ball, touch, touch in goal, dead ball or touch in the act of scoring. The referee may also take advice on foul play affecting a score and kicks at goal. For all other instances, the referee and touch judges must rule on what they see."


    From: http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/sportedit...e_power_1.html
    "Currently the TMO can only adjudicate on grounding issues."

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Dear Lord, if you give us back Johnny Cash, we'll give you Justin Bieber.

  7. #7
    Legend Contributor
    Moderator
    Happy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    JB O'Reilly's
    Posts
    8,072
    vCash
    46000
    Tong Master TWF Competition Runner Up! MO-vember Donator TWF Contributor!
    or in recent cases, feel quite at home to rule on what they miss

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Chuck Norris has the greatest Poker-Face of all time. He won the 1983 World Series of Poker, despite holding only a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno.

  8. #8
    Veteran Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    4,051
    vCash
    690000
    TWF Contributor! 141 Club Award
    I may be misremembering, but I thought the disallowed try on the weekend went something like "check that the player has touched both post and ground" and got back "player has lost control"..

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Player Contributor joblot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mundaring
    Posts
    362
    vCash
    672000
    TWF Contributor!
    As I understand it Jess, the TMO can only answer the question as it was asked. He cannot volunteer information. Also he cannot comment on actions on the field. He is limted to the touchline and the space between the try line and the dead ball line. This is unlike Rugby League, wher the TMO can go back several phases, even to the half way line and point out any infringements that the ref may have missed. I think the R.L. system is fairer and it does not seem to cause any delays. This is probably the only time in my life I will say that R.L. has it over Union.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Immortal Contributor The InnFORCEr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    West Leederville
    Posts
    12,167
    vCash
    1934000
    Dry July! Tong Master 141 Club Award TWF Contributor! TWF Competition Winner!
    Quote Originally Posted by Sagerian
    As far as I know they are only allowed to answer the question given. Although often you will hear the ref ask if there's any reason he cannot award the try.
    This is the right answer for mine. And I believe this "is there any reason I cannot awrad a try" was only introduced this season and can be an infringement in a phase or pahses before the try is scored....I think.

    Great quetsion Mrs C.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The Wallabies - Still the only team to score tries and win away from home in both, yes both its World Cup victories!

    I vote - and I want a proper rectangular stadium in Perth!

  11. #11
    Veteran Contributor The EnForcer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,645
    vCash
    502000
    Dry July! MO-vember Donator TWF Contributor!
    Where's Burg's when you need him.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just happy to be here

  12. #12
    Immortal Contributor The InnFORCEr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    West Leederville
    Posts
    12,167
    vCash
    1934000
    Dry July! Tong Master 141 Club Award TWF Contributor! TWF Competition Winner!
    probably at

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The Wallabies - Still the only team to score tries and win away from home in both, yes both its World Cup victories!

    I vote - and I want a proper rectangular stadium in Perth!

  13. #13
    Senior Player Contributor WF2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Gwelup
    Posts
    776
    vCash
    656000
    TWF Contributor!
    Quote Originally Posted by The EnForcer
    Where's Burg's when you need him.
    More likely trying to keep his coos from droonin'

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  14. #14
    Veteran Jess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    4,223
    vCash
    500000
    MO-vember Donator
    Old Missus Cringle is a clever one

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  15. #15
    I'm sticking with my original answer on this, however I'd like to add that the TMO will often show a modicum of intelligence. For example, the Canes try that was disallowed on Friday night. From memory the Ref asked if it had touched the post, which it did. However the TMO replies that he lost control of the ball. So more of less they only focus on what the ref tells them to.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Question for Coach (or a Ref)
    By hopep in forum Rugby Laws Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31-07-07, 11:56
  2. Laws of Rugby - Law 19 - Touch and Lineout
    By Darren in forum The Laws of Rugby
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30-07-07, 14:13
  3. Two quick steps to put Wallabies right
    By Burgs in forum Wallabies
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-05-07, 10:10
  4. tonights 3rd try!
    By slomo in forum Western Force
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 08-05-07, 20:57
  5. A question for Travelling_Gerry
    By Happy in forum Public Bar
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-07-06, 19:46

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •