Thread: Waugh: The debate on NRC for what it's worth

Senior Player
    vCash

Waugh: The debate on NRC for what it's worth

Waugh: The debate on NRC for what it's worth

TODAY AT 7:00 PM NRC

by Phil Waugh

When we look at the much improved Wallabies performance against the All Blacks at Eden Park and then a scintillating win against the Welsh at Millennium Stadium it would be easy to attribute it all to hard training in camp and the experience of a long Test Season.

This would be very superficial however, as behind the hard training has been a national competition called the Buildcorp National Rugby Championship.

This short competition played nationally has received much criticism from different sectors of the rugby community.

Firstly must I state, there is no bigger supporter of club rugby than myself. I started playing rugby when I was 4 years old at the Narrabeen Tigers. I then made the Warringah Rats representative team spend every Saturday ball-boying for the senior Rats teams from 5th grade through to first 1st grade.

This is where I learnt the importance of club rugby. The community spirit that is so unique to the game of rugby. Club rugby is what made me appreciate the game and what made me as a rugby player.

In my opinion, club rugby will always be an absolutely critical soul of rugby in Australia and it needs to be embraced for its importance.
    Club rugby and the National Rugby Championship can co-exist and can in fact benefit from each other. This year’s NRC was a massive improvement on the previous year’s tournaments.

The skill level exhibited during the tournament was as good, if not better than that I witnessed in New Zealand’s Mitre 10 Cup and South Africa’s Currie Cup.