Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Hodgson backs future of Western Force

Senior Player
    vCash

Hodgson backs future of Western Force

Western Force veteran Matt Hodgson is confident the Super Rugby club will be around for many more years and is planning to help steer it into the future.

A SANZAAR review has led to speculation that an Australian club could be cut from the competition at the end of next year but Hodgson, who has signed a unique contract that allows him another playing year while he moves into a coaching role, says it won’t be the Force.

“I would not have signed on and be putting so much effort into this if I didn’t think we would be here for a long time,” said Hodgson, who is preparing for his 12th consecutive season at the Force in 2017.

“I stopped listening to rumours and gossip in 2006 when I started playing and I wouldn’t be sticking around now if I didn’t feel the same as I did then.

“Obviously we need things to change on field, but if we are playing great football how can they kick us out?”

Hodgson has relinquished the captaincy after four years and tips Wallabies No.8 Ben McCalman as his successor.

Hodgson is expected to step into coaching full-time in 2018, but that will be put on hold if he can play another year.

“I’m not saying it’s my last year, but it’s time to think about life after footy,” Hodgson said.

“As long as I think I’m adding value to the team I’ll stay around, but no promises yet. When I took over the captaincy, I got thrown into the deep end and had to learn through mistakes. I have loved every moment of it, but I felt it was time to allow someone to ease into it.

“Benny would fall into the role. Players look up to him and respect him and you need someone in the engine room, in the middle of it all, to deal with referees.”

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sp...hodgson/#page1

3 Not allowed! Not allowed!

vCash
    With all that is currently happening here in the West, our demise is becoming less and less likely.