Thread: Australia winger Drew Mitchell re-signs with Australian Rugby Union

Immortal Contributor
    vCash

Australia winger Drew Mitchell re-signs with Australian Rugby Union

By staff writers
    July 28, 2009 Australia winger Drew Mitchell has committed to Australian Rugby until after the 2011 Rugby World Cup.
    Mitchell, who will link with the New South Wales Waratahs in 2010, confirmed his future on Tuesday after finalising negotiations on a two-year contract with Australian Rugby Union and NSW Rugby Union.

“I’ve known what I’ve been doing for a few months – it’s just been a matter of getting all the paperwork in place which I’ve done now,” he said.

ARU High Performance boss David Nucifora said Mitchell’s signing continued the successful retention of leading players through to the next Rugby World Cup and beyond.

“It’s great to retain a player in Australian Rugby who has already invested a significant number of years into the game here,” Nucifora said.

“Drew came into the Wallabies at a young age, he’s still maturing as a footy player and his best years are still ahead of him.”

Mitchell captained Australian Schoolboys out of St Patrick’s College, Shorncliffe (Queensland) in 2001 and represented Australian Under 21s at the World Championships in 2003.

The following season he captained the Australian Under 21 side and made his Super Rugby debut for Queensland Reds, playing all 11 matches.

At just 20 years of age, Mitchell was named later that year in the 2004 Wallabies Spring Tour squad.

He made his Test debut in 2005 and went on to be named the Wallabies Rookie of the Year

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,...016959,00.html

0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

vCash
    Wasn't he having to stay with the ARU since he was playing for one of our provinces? I thought he was stuck with us til then?

A kick in this game is like a rather nasty alcoholic shooter, only as good as it's chaser...
    Courtesy of quality South African commentry

vCash